5 love languages in business

You’ve probably heard about the book and theory of the 5 love languages by Gary Chapman, that basically states that, in order for a relationship to thrive, you need to understand how your partner wants to receive love and appreciation and that we need to communicate based on how the other needs, not how we want to receive.

Given the newest stats I read here, about the influence that the relationship with the manager has on most of us:

  • 70% of employees say that their manager influences their wellbeing more than their therapist or doctor, 70% of people say their manager has more impact on their mental health, more than their therapist or their doctor
  • 71% say stress at work negatively impinges on their home life,
  • 30% of people say their manager fails to recognize their own impact on others’ wellbeing.
  • 70% of people would like their manager to do more to support mental health

I thought we can all be happier if we communicate better.

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio

The 5 love languages was a book of reference for me, as it gave me direct pointers on understanding others, with real, concrete actions I could take to show my appreciation.

These five languages, defined by Dr. Gary Chapman, include words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, physical touch and quality time. By understanding and speaking these love languages with coworkers and clients, you can improve communication, build stronger relationships, and ultimately drive success in your business.

  1. Words of Affirmation: For some people, words of encouragement, recognition, and praise are the most meaningful form of communication. If this is your love language in the workplace, you may appreciate hearing positive feedback from your manager, colleagues, or clients.
  2. Acts of Service: Some people value actions over words. If this is your love language in business, you may appreciate when coworkers take on tasks or responsibilities for you or go out of their way to help.
  3. Receiving Gifts: Some people appreciate receiving gifts as a sign of thoughtfulness and appreciation. In a business setting, this might mean receiving a small token of appreciation from a client or coworker, such as a gift card or personalized thank you note.
  4. Physical Touch: While physical touch may not be appropriate in the workplace, some people value physical connection and contact as a form of communication. If this is your love language in business, you may appreciate a handshake or pat on the back from a coworker or client.
  5. Quality Time: Some people value undivided attention and presence as a form of communication. In the workplace, this might mean having a one-on-one meeting with a coworker or client to discuss work and build a relationship.

Photo by fauxels.

By understanding and speaking these five love languages, you can improve communication, build stronger relationships, and ultimately drive success in your business. Whether you’re speaking words of affirmation to a coworker, offering acts of service to a client, or simply spending quality time with your team, taking the time to understand and speak the love languages can have a significant impact on your success in the workplace.

Here are some concrete examples you can apply from today:

  1. Words of Affirmation: A manager regularly provides specific, positive feedback to their employees during performance reviews. A coworker takes the time to write a personal note to a colleague, congratulating them on a job well done.
  2. Acts of Service: A team member volunteers to take on a task for a coworker who is overwhelmed with work. A client sends a basket of snacks and drinks to the office, showing appreciation for the team’s hard work.
  3. Receiving Gifts: A client sends a personalized gift to a salesperson who helped them with their purchase. A team leader gives a small token of appreciation, such as a plant or a book, to each team member for their hard work and dedication.
  4. Physical Touch: A manager gives a coworker a pat on the back after a successful presentation. A team leader gives a hug to a team member who has been working long hours.
  5. Quality Time: A manager sets aside one-on-one time with each team member to discuss their goals and provide support. A coworker takes the time to listen to a colleague’s concerns and offer advice.

Photo by Panos Sakalakis

In conclusion, the 5 love languages are a powerful tool for improving communication and building stronger relationships in business. By understanding and speaking the love languages of your coworkers, clients, and team members, you can create a positive and productive work environment and drive success for your business.

Moreover, when you start practicing this way of communication, you will automatically change the way you communicate with your loved ones, thus improving your overall state of wellbeing.

If you want to discover more books I am passionate about, here are a few examples, but the articles are in Romanian language: